pdf as content and question

pdf as content and question

by Dan McGuire -
Number of replies: 15
I'm a newbie. I want my students to be able to view a pdf file and then submit a short answer to a question that is at the end of the pdf . I've tried to create a lesson but can't seem to make it work.
I was able to add the pdf to the course as a resource but students can't view it as they are writing their response. I've only been using assignments, forums, wikis and blogs; I haven't been able to use lesson module successfully and I'm not even sure the lesson module is the best way to do what I want to do.
Any suggestions would be appreciated,
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Dan McGuire

Re: pdf as content and question

by Mark Drechsler -
How about this...

1. Within your course, upload the PDF into your course files area
  2. Once you've done that click on the file, and copy the URL from the browser window, pop it into Notepad or something
  3. Create a new Assignment (Online Text)
  4. For the description, change the view to HTML view in the editor, and embed some HTML for an iFrame that points to the PDF URL
  5. Change back to WYSIWYG mode and add your question underneath the newly displayed iframe
  6. Save, and that should now let your students view the scrollable PDF in the same window as the one they'll be entering their response into.
Sound like a plan?

Mark.
In reply to Mark Drechsler

by Chris Collman -
Picture of Documentation writers
Thank you Mark!
That IS a plan and something I am very interested in. I took the liberty of adding an IFrame page in MoodleDocs. I knew nothing about IFrame so went to Wikipedia and combined your outstanding instructions. I then checked it out using demo.moodle. Yeah!

This should also work in a branch table or question page in Lesson, because it is HTML, right? Not for every teacher, but certainly something for the more adventuresome to try. Thanks again. Chris
In reply to Chris Collman

by Mark Drechsler -