hosting options

hosting options

by Jennifer Claro -
Number of replies: 17
Hi Moodle community, and thank you for your help.

This is my first time posting here. I teach English at a university in Japan and have been using Moodle since April. My students use Moodle in class, we have a computer room and they all connect to my site at the same time, which twice has led to my site being shut down because too many people were connecting to it from one IP address and my SiteGround host's firewall shut down my site for security reasons. It is back online now but the SiteGround staff has recommended that I get the Virtual Private Server plan for $99 a month. They would configure the server to my needs so there would be no more firewall problems.

My question is... Do I need to go for this expensive plan with SiteGround or are cheaper options available? Or could I buy my own server and install Moodle on it? (But I am pretty much a beginner with high tech computer stuff... I am worried that I will have problems that I will not be able to solve on my own...)

Also, if I got my own server, would my students be able to use it to connect to the Internet for non-Moodle purposes, or would it have to be used for Moodle only?

Thank you to anyone who can help.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Claro in Kitami, Japan
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jennifer Claro

Re: hosting options

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
To comment on your second question first... It's not quite rocket science to build a server and get Moodle running, but there are lots of places you can go badly wrong (e.g., security, backups). If you are starting from nothing then you either have a lot of reading to do or you need to buy some time from someone who can get you started. Moodle, by the way, is the easy bit smile