Quickmail / Moodle 1.9 / error finding users

Quickmail / Moodle 1.9 / error finding users

by Brian Schmidt -
Number of replies: 14
We've successfully used the Quickmail block on several past versions of Moodle. However, on 1.9, we're now having issues. Whenever I try to either compose a new message, or view the history of messages, I get the following error returned:
No course users found to email

However, we have several users in the course. I'm guessing perhaps the function to retrieve users has changed in 1.9, so this is why it's failing? Anyone know how to fix this for 1.9?

TIA
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Brian Schmidt

Re: Quickmail / Moodle 1.9 / error finding users

by Brian Schmidt -
BTW, this is in reference to the Quickmail for large classes version...

by Glenn Enright -
Hi Brian,

I am new to moodle and I seem to be having the same issue. It appears the problem is related to the sort order option within the blocks/quickmail/email.php get_course_users() function on line 76.

Try changing line 76 as follows:
//Get list of users enrolled in the course including teachers and students
// if (!$courseusers = get_course_users($course->id, 'lastname')) {
// error('No course users found to email');
// }

// Modified
if (!$courseusers = get_course_users($course->id)) {
error('No course users found to email');
}

I also had to alter line 196 to fix another smaller error:
//$messagetext = messagetext."-------------------------------------------------\n";
// Modified
$messagetext = "----------------------------------------------------\n";

I have not fully tested these changes so please use with caution!!

Glenn
In reply to Glenn Enright

by Brian Schmidt -
Glenn,

Thanks for sharing your workaround. So far, in my limited testing, this is working exactly as I need it to.

Brian
In reply to Glenn Enright

Works for me, but

by Mark Penny -