Moodle and PHP 6

Moodle and PHP 6

by Greg J Preece -
Number of replies: 10
Hi all,

I was wondering as to the current state of play with Moodle and PHP 6. I've got a test environment set up for development that runs many different versions of many different things, and I was hoping to run Moodle on PHP 6.0-dev so I can be ahead of the game.

However, when I try to switch one of my existing installations to PHP 6, I get one or more Strict Standards errors appearing on the page, and nothing else. (All error reporting is turned on, as it's a development environment.) This is my first time using PHP 6, but I'm assuming the standards errors are causing PHP execution to halt. I couldn't find a flag to turn them off in php.ini - perhaps I missed it.

Also, I can't get FreeTDS to load, as I get a startup error saying the API my PHP 6.x version of php_dblib.dll was compiled with is out of date, though I guess that will be fixed in time when Frank Kromann moves to the newer API.

Does anyone have Moodle running on PHP 6? Any tips? They would be much appreciated.

As an aside, I have to say, I'm looking forward to Moodle 2, when PHP 4 support goes out the window altogether. That will be a very happy moment for me. Fond as I am of v4, it's far too out of date, and it was with much smiling that I spotted Moodle on the list over at GoPHP5.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Greg J Preece

Re: Moodle and PHP 6

by Anthony Borrow -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers