Multiple master Mysql replication with Moodle?

Multiple master Mysql replication with Moodle?

by Moritz von Schweintiz -
Number of replies: 9
Hello,

can anybody confirm or deny whether Moodle runs on mysql server configured to do multiple-master replication? I would like to set up 2 servers that constantly replicate each other, and i have had very good results with mysql's multiple master replication for doing exactly that.
AFAIK, as long as an application uses AUTO_INCREMENT columns, and unique keys that are guaranteed to be unique across hosts, this should Just Work (R), but I am a complete Moodle newbie, so I'd be grateful for any information on whether Moodle works with this.

Thanks,

-schweini
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Moritz von Schweintiz

Re: Multiple master Mysql replication with Moodle?

by Dan Poltawski -
Yep, I use this and it works ok.

Dan
In reply to Dan Poltawski

by Moritz von Schweintiz -
Thanks for the heads-up!

anything special i have to watch out for? And how did keep the relevant directories on the filesystem in sync? I'm thinking about an rsync-cronjob every couple of minutes, even though that doesn't seem like the most elegant solution to me....

Thanks for any help,

M.

by dibesh shrestha -

My question is also the same. In addition how do i sync. the moodle data folder?

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Don't do it. Multi-master replication is hard and can corrupt your data.

Just buy a big DB server with lots of RAM, then tune the database to use it. If you can use Postgres.

Get memcache(d) for caching, and use NFS for moodledata on a shared file-store.

In reply to Tim Hunt

by dibesh shrestha -

Thnak you Tim for your reply. What may be the option to synchronize moodle database and data beside multi master replication?