E-learning (and Moodle) like buying a corporate jet

E-learning (and Moodle) like buying a corporate jet

by Ray Taylor -
Number of replies: 0
Disclaimer: I offer Moodle hosting services through my corporate entity Acorda Design Integration Inc. located in Montreal Canada. I am fairly new to Moodle hosting as a commercial venture but I have been doing Internet hosting since 2000. I have also been helping many organizations get into Moodle over the last 2 years while completing my M.A. in Educational Technology. I am also an instructional designer and human performance technologist.

One of the issues I find with promoting e-learning in general and Moodle specifically is the broad lack of understanding of what resources are needed to support as well as develop an effective e-learning strategy. This is why I came up with the Corporate Jet analogy.

Basically buying into an e-learning solution is a lot like buying a corporate jet. The rationale for buying a jet or an e-learning solution is that you need to get people who cost organizations lots of money to their destinations faster. Efficiency options are similar. If courses, workshops and coaching are a lot like choosing to take the bus, the train or a taxi, then e-learning is a lot like flying. Of course there are options to fly like common carriers, charters right up to ownership of aircraft, with each option shaving valuable time and inconvenience off the equation. Generally there is a sweet spot where buying a corporate jet makes good economic sense when your executives cost thousands of dollars per hour.

However it is not only the acquisition cost of the aircraft, which is fairly easy to assess (one plane costs less than another), but the associated running costs that most organizations do not have the competencies to assess or manage. For example, a ground crew, pilots, hangar space, maintenance costs, landing/take off priority can have incredible variations in cost and have serious impact on performance.