e-learning myths and reality ?

e-learning myths and reality ?

by Jurgis Pralgauskis -
Number of replies: 4
http://www.traininghott.com/E-Learning-Myths-and-Realities-for-IT-Professional.pdf
well this doc has 5 points about quality and price of e-learning.
I haven't examined it carefuly, but I am a beginner to give courses, and I feel that sometimes it would be easier to give face-to-face courses. freedom of e-learning sometimes leads to not doing things on time or not doing them at all.. ;)

Jus want to know others' opinions- what expectations weren't fullfiled?
and how You deal with e-learning problems?
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jurgis Pralgauskis

Re: e-learning myths and reality ?

by Paul Nijbakker -

Hello Jurgis,

Well, first of all I have to mention that this report would never be accepted as a research paper at my school. The writer already draws his conclusions in the foreword; that is not good academic practice. Moreover the list of references is very lopsided and the author refers several times in his text to "studies" that support his claims, without actually giving any references for them. Furthermore, he includes interview remarks by the managers of the company commissioning the report without contrasting or supporting them with other information.

But then, we have to take into account that this report was, in fact, not written as an objective study, but that it is actually a pamphlet commissioned by a commercial enterprise whose commercial interests are not served by the success of eLearning. Hence, the clear bias and the lack of in-depth research. I guess the enterprise wanted to be able to refer to a "study" to support their claims, so they had one written, that is only a thinly disguised flyleaf for their product.