Editing fullname() causes weird bugs with the forum module

Editing fullname() causes weird bugs with the forum module

by Darryl Pogue -
Number of replies: 3
Hi everyone,
I've been working with Moodle for a few months now with my school; and I've been writing a lot of little hacks to get it working exactly how we'd like it. One of these hacks was designed to replace a teacher's first name with a title.

First, I created a user profile field to store the title text (so that each teacher can specify their title). Then I went hunting for the fullname function in moodlelib.php. I added an additional argument (which is set to false by default) that will display the title instead of the first name.

/** 
* Given an object containing firstname and lastname
* values, this function returns a string with the
* full name of the person.
* The result may depend on system settings
* or language. 'override' will force both names
* to be used even if system settings specify one.
* @uses $CFG
* @uses $SESSION
* @param object $user A {@link $USER} object to get full name of
* @param bool $override If true then the name will be first name followed by last name rather than adhering to fullnamedisplay setting.
* @param cool $title If true then the name will be a title (if available) followed by the last name.