[RFC] get_my_courses() - simpler, cheaper

[RFC] get_my_courses() - simpler, cheaper

by Martín Langhoff -
Number of replies: 8
With the new roles infrastructure, get_my_courses() turns out to be rather expensive on large sites. I am finding it a bit of a struggle to figure out a cheap way of answering 'which courses is this user related to'. It is one of our key operations so I want to find a good way of doing this we can use across the codebase.

The current my_courses has two problems:

- it gets all the fields on mdl_course
- it gets all the rows of mdl_course

the attached patch names a few fields, and selects all courses the user has an explicit relationship with. My logic is that we are interested in courses we have a _direct_ relationship -- indirect relationships (such as "I'm the admin") don't indicate a specific interest in that course. So if I am the site admin, and I am a teacher on course X, and a student in course Y, course X and Y will be listed, and nothing else.

It also discourages people from doing too much with indirect relationships which are really costly to keep track of wide eyes

One possible improvement would be to JOIN against mdl_roles as well to get the name of the role for display purposes (assuming the shortname is something we can "resolve" against the language packs).

I think the patch makes sense but I'm such an ignorant when it comes to roles wink therefore this Request For Comments.

Edit: colour coded patch here http://git.catalyst.net.nz/gitweb?p=moodle-r2.git;a=commitdiff;h=aa86af11edda901b39496aca13bbb51892752f8a;hp=758c40dbb788d015ac6a7767a9363d804805ee5b
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Martín Langhoff

Re: [RFC] get_my_courses() - simpler, cheaper

by Martin Dougiamas -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers