Question on insert_record() function

Question on insert_record() function

by Tim Redman -
Number of replies: 11
I'm fairly new to Moodle and PHP programming in general and I'm trying to get my head around the functions provided in datalib.php.

What I am hoping to do is create a form and take the values and submit them into a table I have created. Even more basic than that at the moment I'm trying to simply create a php page that will submit a record into a manually created table.

I think insert_record() is the function I should be using and I have included datalib.php and config.php in the php script but do not seem to be able to get it to work.

<?php
require_once("config.php");
require_once("datalib.php");

$newentry->test = array('2', 'test');
$table = 'mdl_test_table';

insert_record($table, $newentry)
?>

As you can see, I really am a beginner at all this. Any suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong or suggestions for blocks or activity modules that include submitting values to a database table I can look at for clues would be great.

Any help much appreciated, would be nice to get to grips with all this and hopefully eventually contribute something usefull back to the moodle community!

Thanks
Tim
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Tim Redman

Re: Question on insert_record() function

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
First, go to the admin page on your test set up, and turn on the various debug options. Then you will get error messages when you screw up (which we all do wink)

In your first require. Don't you need to specify a path?

If the first include works, you won't need the second one.

Then to create the newentry, you actually need to do

$newentry = new stdClass;
$newentry->firstcolumnname = 2;
$newentry->secondcolumnname = 'test';
insert_record('test_table', $newentry)

Try that and let us know how you get on.