Alternative To Web Page Resource - Multiple Web Pages

Alternative To Web Page Resource - Multiple Web Pages

by Matt Thomas -
Number of replies: 8
I am fairly new to Moodle, but I searched for a couple of hours in these forums to see if there was a way to have multiple sub-pages branching off a web page reousrce on the home page without having to show links to all the sub-pages in the main menu. So there may be a way to do it (other than creating an HTML block with copies of selected main menu links and then hiding the main menu), but I just decided to make my own module based on an existing module: book.

Basically, I modified book to create a new module. I changed it so it has its own tables in the database, looks like a plain web page (without the fancy controls), changed all "book" terminology to "pages", modified the sidebar navigation of pages so that it appears to be a block (with the same block css styles used on the home page), changed the css styles used for the content area to match that used for web page content areas, and threw in a few extra little things like adding a Home Page link in the "block-style" page menu and hiding the page name in the menu if there is only one page.

So this way, you can have one link in your main menu on your home page that goes to a multi-webpage resource that is intuitively navigable and very easy to add additional pages to.

If anyone has a need for such a thing, let me know and I will pass along the code to you.

Screenshot example attached.
Attachment multipagesample.jpg
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Matt Thomas

Re: Alternative To Web Page Resource - Multiple Web Pages

by Art Lader -

Dear Matt,

This looks very interesting. Nice and clean.

You know, there are thousands of Moodlers active on the site. Why not go ahead and release your code? I am sure it will be just what someone is looking for! smile

Best regards,
Art

In reply to Art Lader

by Matt Thomas -