Scaffolding content: increasing complexity/detail of this information each user's visit

Scaffolding content: increasing complexity/detail of this information each user's visit

by Nick Howlett -
Number of replies: 4
I had an idea for scaffolding learning of technical 'content' that leverages some of the advantages of online learning platforms (such as Moodle).

Basically, I am thinking that each time a student reads some written information it automatically updates (replaces) the information (next time they read this topic's information) to a higher level of complexity/detail/etc.

Does anyone have any research evidence of something similar being more effective (than student-written notes of this content, for example) that they can point me to?

For more practical context I'm an amateur 'dev' looking to develop content, centred around 'computational science'. I'm happy to dive into Moodle's source-code to achieve this.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Nick Howlett

Re: Scaffolding content: increasing complexity/detail of this information each user's visit

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Hello Nick. I understand what you are getting at but I don't think it's a good idea to automatically update (replace) the information to a higher level of complexity - what if they didn't understand it the first time? What if they want to go back later and read it again? What if they had to stop reading it half way through?