Apply AJAX techniques during the edition of courses

Apply AJAX techniques during the edition of courses

by J.Lluís Milà -
Number of replies: 28

Hello,

I'm also a student of the UPF (pompeu fabra university, Barcelona) and in one of our subjets we have to try to improve some functionalities of Moodle.

My project is about the application of AJAX techniques during the edition of courses. For example, to be able to drag elements up and down for changing (or moving) its order without having to reload the entire web page two times. I will attach a file with screenshots showing the two times that the entire web page is reloaded.

By now, in the first step, I'm interested to know the opinions (for instance, if you think that is a good idea or not) of the moodle community about my project and if it can be already implemented (for avoid to reinvent the wheel).

I hope you will understand what I want to say.

Cheers !

Attachment Dibujo4.gif
Average of ratings: -
In reply to J.Lluís Milà

Re: Apply AJAX techniques during the edition of courses

by Michael Penney -
Yes its a great idea! Moving topics and copying activities would also be great additions. By the way, have you looked at the functions provided by the Chameleon theme?
In reply to J.Lluís Milà

by Urs Hunkler -
Picture of Core developers

J.Lluís, this is a great project and will be able to enhance the user experience a lot.

There are some first steps done in course layout editing - see my forum posting Moodle Ajax projects. The course editing solutions work but can not be integrated into the Moodle core because of incompatibilities with existing JavaScript functions. We need a solution that works with old code either by finding a solution to change the old code or find/develop code that does not interfere with exiting functions.

Your description is similar to the project AJAX Course Format described on the Student projects page in Moodle Docs. Please read there how you could start your project.