Is it possible to install and run moodle on an Orange Pi5 or on a QNAP NAS?

Is it possible to install and run moodle on an Orange Pi5 or on a QNAP NAS?

by Hugo Casal -
Number of replies: 35

Hello 

I am a beginner in Moodle.

I have a project to use it in rural schools ,with few students ,where they don't have internet .

The idea is to install moodle on a local server and have the students connect through a wireless network to the platform.

As the budget is limited, I thought about using a Rapsberry Pi4, but that board  is not available in the market for some time.

I have thought of using instead, the Orange Pi5 which is much more powerful than the Pi 4.

Will it be possible to use it?

For schools or colleges with more students I would like to use a NAS from QNAP company. 

Same query, is it possible?

Best regards

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Hugo Casal

Re: Is it possible to install and run moodle on an Orange Pi5 or on a QNAP NAS?

by Brett Dalton -
Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers
Hugo, some idea of the number of users would be useful Concurrenty will be a big issue as will memory, you might want to look for a platform where memory isn't as tight as the Pi's or split the database and web server to different boxes at a min. Its all doable but perfomance will not be great with more than a small number of users logged in at the same time.

If you are looking at running this on a super tight budget I would also strongly suggest some students and teachers education on using small and minmal images, videos content may be problematic or not an option, and avoid using quizzes where you know you will have a large number of users hitting the system at the same time as that is known to case problems.
Average of ratings: Useful (2)
In reply to Hugo Casal

by Visvanath Ratnaweera -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Translators