a limit to number of metacourses you can link to a course?

a limit to number of metacourses you can link to a course?

by Kimball Martin -
Number of replies: 2
Hi all,
I'm really new to moodle and have been trying to learn the ropes over the last couple of weeks. I have gone through the forums but can't find a thread which seems quite right.
I have been asked by my boss if there is a way to no have to enrol every time you go into a course (smallish business training pages). So I set up the courses as metacourses and then made a general course as the means to have new employess enrol themselves in the training areas (courses). Unfortunately, although I have checked that I have done the same for all of the courses, when I login as an employee I can only see 5 (out of 10) of the courses and when I try to enter another of the courses (by first going to "all courses") I get a message saying that the course doesn't allow public access.
The training pages have the probability of getting bigger in the future and I can see this problem may well occur again. I don't really want to split the group of 10 initial training areas into 2.
Is there a limit as to how many metacourse you can link to a course?
If anyone can tell me or let me know a workaround I would appreciate it.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Kimball Martin

Re: a limit to number of metacourses you can link to a course?

by Ger Tielemans -

In the old days the admin had to set and control all the access rights for courses. Meta-courses is trying to mimic this old complex administration mechanism.

Standard Moodle is organising the login mechanism in a much more simple way, if you realise how it is working:

1. In your case you could set the rule that all courses for the same department will have the same key: so, from an employee perspectiv:
    1. go to the frontpage
    2. (maybe also: organise courses by department, duplicate courses which are available for more then one department ?)