Courses without teachers?

Courses without teachers?

by Rob Hindman -
Number of replies: 3
Hi,
I'm new to Moodle but learning fast.  I'm wanting to use it in a sort of automated self-paced learning environment.  Online students will enroll for courses on their own, and the courses consist of video, audio, and text.  After studying the material, the students will take tests which will be graded by Moodle (no subjective grading).  I will not be using any chats, forums, journals, etc.  Just content (resources) and quizzes.

Here's the thing: I will be administering the site, but am not actually going to be a teacher.  Each course will sort of be self-sustaining, students will study independently, and the video/audio/text will do the teaching.  I am wondering if it is even necessary for me to assign a teacher (which would have to be myself) to each course, or if I can just create each course but not assign a teacher.  I don't want to confuse students, and I certainly don't have the expertise to be able to handle inquiries they might ask a "teacher."

Any thoughts would be invaluable.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Rob Hindman

Re: Courses without teachers?

by Stephen Plume -
Rob

You might already know that you can change where it says teacher to say something else...perhaps advisor?  Tutor?  Whatever you like.

It's under the link where you assign teachers...you can type something different in.  For example next term when our student led publication comes out we have a course which has a Production Editor and Editorial Board Members.

Or you could hide the fact you were the teacher.

Hope this helps.

Thanks

Stephen
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Rob Hindman

by John Rodkey -
If you go into the settings for the course, you'll find that you can specify what a 'Teacher' is called.  You might want to supply 'Technical Assistant'
or whatever communicates your role properly to the online students.

John
Average of ratings: Useful (1)