Moodle analytics course or videos

Moodle analytics course or videos

by Zabelle Motte -
Number of replies: 3

Hello,

I am studying moodle native learning analytics possibilities and i found this video that presents the developers basics :

This video seems to be the first of a series of webinars that are not more accessible :
https://moodle.com/news/moodle-learning-analytics-webinars/

I find it is difficult to enter the analytics concepts without such a course.
And I was amazed to notice there are analytics plugins that are developped as additionnal plugins that do not use the default analytics (and therefore suppose to use new tables in database).
Here is an interresting analytics plugin that works without using the default analytics :
https://moodle.org/plugins/local_learning_analytics

If there exist a course or videos to let developpers learn more about Moodle default learning analytics, it would be fine to share these videos or to open this course.

Kisses,

Zabelle

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Zabelle Motte

Re: Moodle analytics course or videos

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers
There is a YouTube Moodle channel with all kinds of videos. Maybe you will find some that help you.

The video that you posted is from Elizabeth Dalton.  The last time I chatted with her she was working for Intelliboard, a company specializing in Moodle Analytics.  Consider contacting Elizabeth or Intelliboard for their perspectives on analytics.

I am not exactly sure where your "study" will take you.  However, remember that Moodle uses a relational database to store all kinds of information.  If you know SQL, you have access to (almost) everything you could want.

In reply to Rick Jerz

by Zabelle Motte -
I noticed that Elizabeth Dalton left the Moodle project to work for Intelliboard :
https://www.linkedin.com/in/elizabethdalton/