Language customisation Error writing to database after updating to 4.0

Language customisation Error writing to database after updating to 4.0

by martin smith -
Number of replies: 4

Hi

I just updated Moodle to 4.0 from 3.11, Its an AMI I am running on AWS and now I'm getting this error message 'Error writing to database' when I go to Language customisation, I have used admirer plungin to change the character set from utf8  to utf8_general_ci as per a recommendation in one of the forums but it didnt help. I have been through the forums and cant find anything to work that I understand. I'm a beginner developer using Moodle, can anyone help my with this error please. 

Average of ratings: -
In reply to martin smith

Re: Language customisation Error writing to database after updating to 4.0

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

There is character set *and* collation involved.

In your Adminer, can you see a tables columns setup for both character set and collation?

In your config.php file there is a DB array of variables ... one is collation.   What you have there ... which to get full support needs to be utf8mb4 character set with uff8mb4_unicode_ci collation.

Got ssh into your server?   In code/admin/cli/ there are some handy mysql_ php scripts that will recursively change character set or collation for all tables and columns in those tables to fully supported.    Running with php nameofscript.php will bring up a help screen with the options one can apply.

Uhhh .. do make a backup of the DB before doing anything more with your DB! smile

'SoS', Ken

In reply to Ken Task

by martin smith -
Thanks for that I will give it a go after backing up my DB
In reply to martin smith

by Leon Stringer -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers