Moodle on Shared Hosting Issue

Moodle on Shared Hosting Issue

by Terry Waterman -
Number of replies: 11

Hello everyone

I work for a small business in Ottawa, Canada, and we’ve been running Moodle for about 6 months to serve as an online “materials home” for our (live) online training programs, which we run on Zoom.   

I’m a trainer (Jim) not an IT guy (biggest problem).  We can’t find or afford an IT guy (for our web, at least).  However, I’ve run Moodle before and never had any issues.  I also run two WordPress sites.  However my main thing is running training programs. I'm a functional noob, I guess?  

Background

I'm running Moodle 3.11.2+ (Build: 20210820) All green checkmarks in the upgrade list. Server architecture Linux 3.10.0-042stab144.1 x86_64 PHP version 7.4.29  (PHP memory limit 256M)

Currently, we use Edwiser Bridge to link the WordPress and Moodle site and automate enrolment.  We have 288 users, but most are not active at all. (Most of these people log on for a free one-hour webinar and never log on again.)

At the current moment, I am the only one on the site and most times, according to the online user block, it’s pretty dead.  The general usage would be for people to log in, download a PPT (about 3-5 MB), look at some pdfs (under 1MB) and click on a link to attend a live Zoom session.  (Note: this is not when the errors appear, more on that in a second).

Problem

Moodle has worked very well until recently when we’ve started getting ‘out of memory’ issues across two of our servers appearing as 500, critical website error, etc. and it has fallen to me to troubleshoot.