Changing Sideblock Width

Changing Sideblock Width

by Edward Goytia -
Number of replies: 18

Simple question I hope.......

I've scanned through the CSS files to find the settings that control the width of the left and right sideblock widths but haven't been having any luck. I'm a newbie to Moolde but somewhat familiar with CSS. Can someone give me an idea of what setting I'm looking for? I assume they're being set by a pixel width but I don't see anything that looks like the right number or setting name.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Edward Goytia

Re: Changing Sideblock Width

by Chanfin David -
Sideblocks are within 2 cells of a table that are identified respectively by #left-column and #right-column.

<table>
   <td id="left-column">

Left Sideblocks go here

</td>
   <td id="right-column>

Right Sideblocks goe here

</td>
</table>

Look for these id in your theme's css files and add the width attribute there. If there is no definiton for theses id just create one :

#layout-table #left-column {
width: 100px;
}

Hope it helps...
David.
In reply to Chanfin David

by Edward Goytia -

Thanks for your response. Unfortunately I tried that but it doesn't seem to be working. Here is the content of my styles-layout.css:

#layout-table #left-column,
#layout-table #middle-column,
#layout-table #right-column
{
  vertical-align:top;
}

width: 250px;
}

#layout-table #middle-column {
  padding-left:12px;
  padding-right:12px;
}

#layout-table #right-column {
  width: 150px;
}

I'm using a modified HSU theme and thought these lines would be the fix but they don't have any effect. I've tried making them extra wide just for testing purposes but to no avail. Might there be another file elsewhere controlling this setting?

-Ed

by Joseph Rézeau -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Edward,