Reading Text is missing in imported jquiz question

Reading Text is missing in imported jquiz question

by Syed Mustafa -
Number of replies: 9

Hi Gordon,

I am new to Moodle and currently trying to include Reading Comprehension questions to my course quiz. I need to have 2 panes wherein one pane remains static with a text passage and the other pane consists of related questions. I found the best fit to this desired layout in Hot Potatoes JQuiz. I have now created a jquiz exercise by also including a Reading-text. I have then imported this jqz file into the Moodle Question Bank. After sorting out the initial php8 issues, the import completed successfully. But when I select this question in my quiz, the reading text is missing. Is this the standard behaviour or am I missing something in my import.

P.S: I am able to import this as a HP activity element and it works fine (reading text is shown) but I need this within my quiz.  

Thank you

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Syed Mustafa

Re: Reading Text is missing in imported jquiz question

by Gordon Bateson -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
Hi Syed,
did you create the JQuiz with HP7? If so, I don't think that the Hot Potatoes question plugin can recognize HP7 files yet.

Can you try making the JQuiz with HP6? if you can, then I think the import will work.

Regards
Gordon Bateson
In reply to Gordon Bateson

by Syed Mustafa -
Hi Gordon,
Yes I had created with HP7. Now I have installed HP6 and created the same exercise. The rendering in Moodle Quiz after the import still does not show the reading text. 

I have attached the screenshot of the HP6 webpage as well as the Moodle quiz after importing the question. As you can see, the side pane with reading text (which is present in JQ output) is missing in the Moodle quiz question display.

Thank you for your help.

Regards,
Syed Mustafa
Attachment JQ6_Output.png
Attachment MoodleQuiz_Output.png
In reply to Syed Mustafa