Indexes for Table user_enrolments to improve performance

Indexes for Table user_enrolments to improve performance

by Fabian Glagovsky -
Number of replies: 2
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers

Hi all,

I am just starting to learn about database administration and touching on the issue of creating indexes to improve performance. My Moodle is slow for enrolling students to courses.

So I was wondering if Moodle comes already with automatic indexes for this table or if this is something that administrators (or hosts) commonly implement to improve performance.

Do rows for enrollments from courses or users that were deleted get deleted too from the table, or they keep accumulating forever? We have an instance that is running for more than 10 years, it started small and now it is pretty big. So I was wondering if the solution could be establishing indexes to help moodle update the current academic term, the only that is really relevant, to make the process faster, or simply deleting old rows or what.

Old messages are also kept forever with no way to quickly delete those, I saw messages from 2010, so our tables are getting really large.

Any advise towards improving performance on enrollments especially, would be appreciated.

Best,

Fabian

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Fabian Glagovsky

Re: Indexes for Table user_enrolments to improve performance

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
Generally, Moodle should define all the indexes required for to perform well.

Moodle can check that all the indexes which are supposed to exist actually do. Go to Admin -> Development -> XMLDB and click the 'Check indexes' link.