What would be optimal requirements for conducting quiz of 1000 users simultaneously?

What would be optimal requirements for conducting quiz of 1000 users simultaneously?

by Advait Nandeshwar -
Number of replies: 11

Hi all,

We are going to conduct a mock test, students can give the test from their homes. There would be around 1000 concurrent users giving the test. 

I am thinking to go for this DigitalOcean plan. 

RAM
32GB
CPUs
8vCPUs
B/W
7TB
Size
640GB
$/hr
$0.238
$/mo
$160

What are the other Apache2/ MySQL settings that I should keep in mind? I am not a server expert.

Any guidance would be highly appreciated.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Advait Nandeshwar

Re: What would be optimal requirements for conducting quiz of 1000 users simultaneously?

by Visvanath Ratnaweera -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Translators
This question comes up in regular intervals with varying number of quiz users. See for example Conducting quiz for 2000 users https://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=404539.
In reply to Visvanath Ratnaweera

Re: What would be optimal requirements for conducting quiz of 1000 users simultaneously?

by Advait Nandeshwar -
Thank you very much for the reply. I will surely check it out.

No problem. You saw the forum documentation, https://docs.moodle.org/en/Performance and https://docs.moodle.org/en/Performance_FAQ, right?

by Advait Nandeshwar -
Yes, I did. I'm still bit unclear about the part, how much for me 😅. I did basic maths and I know I surely need around 50GB, I just also wanted to know any Apache & MySQL, i.e. php.ini & my.cnf file changes to suit my needs. Can you let me know if there's any article that could help? Thanks.

Where in the documentation does it say you need 50 GB?

About Apache, PHP, MySQL settings, no documentation can give you specific numbers, Moodle runs on all sorts of systems!

by Advait Nandeshwar -