Composer installation?

Composer installation?

by Travis Miller -
Number of replies: 5

Hi –

I'm an experienced LAMP developer who is evaluating Moodle.

I'm hoping to install Moodle via Composer, so that version control and upgrades will be cleaner/easier.

Googling for "moodle composer" turns up this page:

https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Composer

However, when I try this, it just clones the GitHub repo into vendor/moodle/moodle.

I guess I could map my Apache virtualhost's document root to that directory, but that just seems...weird and wrong.

I'm used to Laravel and similar frameworks, which allow you to scaffold a new project via composer create-project. This plays beautifully with source control, and upgrading Laravel itself is a breeze.

So I did some more Googling about using Composer with Moodle. It sounds like this isn't commonly done. It sounds like there is some traction in the Moodle developer community for adding official Composer support, but we're still figuring out exactly what that will look like. Is that fair/accurate?

Or – maybe I'm wrong, and a full-fledged Composer workflow is already possible with Moodle? If so, can anyone point me to some documentation? I haven't been able to find anything definitive.

Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Travis Miller

Re: Composer installation?

by Marcus Green -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

'Or – maybe I'm wrong, and a full-fledged Composer workflow is already possible with Moodle? '

That is not a standard way of installing Moodle.

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
The common approach in the Moodle world for people who want an easy-to-update Moodle install is to run off a git checkout, as in https://docs.moodle.org/38/en/Git_for_Administrators
Average of ratings: Useful (1)