New Moodle activity plugin for one to one lessons

by Przemek Urbanski -
Number of replies: 5

Hey, 

I'm very new to Moodle.

I need extend Moodle to cover the following functionality:
- there is a english teacher,
- this english teacher creates the course,
- he declares in the course that he has for example the following times available for one to one session: Tuesday 10:00-11:00, Thursday 17:00-18:00
- any student can book teachers available time slot,
- only one student can book a slot, once a slot is booked it becomes unavailable for any other student.

And my questions are:
- I believe to achieve functionality like this I need to develop activity plugin, right?
- Is there any up to date complete documentation how to develop activity plugin (I've read this one: https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Activity_modules , but it seems there is many things which are not covered),

Thanks in advance
P

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Przemek Urbanski

Re: New Moodle activity plugin for one to one lessons

by AL Rachels -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
Before trying to develop a plugin, try the Choice activity. It can do that and it is already in Moodle.
In reply to AL Rachels

by Przemek Urbanski -
Hey Al,

Thanks for a suggestion.

I had a quick look at "Choice" activity. It is not really designed for my use case.
I'm not even sure how my case can be addressed by "Choice" activity (for example limiting to one user, via Restrict access? ). To be honest my company will not accept such a 'way around' solution.

Another thing, my use case which I've described in the previous post, is just a beginning. I did not write all next stages requirements. I don't really have a choice other than developing activity plugin. btw I've played with 'Attendance' plugin - it seems it is much closer to what I need than 'Choice'.