Moodle cluster on Windows Server

Moodle cluster on Windows Server

by Mohammad Modallal -
Number of replies: 4

Dears,

I trying to install moodle on cluster environment, i searched on internet but most of the articles are about installing on linux not windows. can any one give me step-by-step installation guide, here is my setup

i read in some articles that i have to make moodle metadata shared between the nodes and to enable something called memcached, but i don't know how to do that ( I have basic knowledge in infrastructure and servers). 

• Moodle version 3.7
  • 2 front-end virtual servers with windows server 2016 standard 64-bit (each node 16 GB RAM, 4 Cores)
  • IIS Webserver
  • using FastCGI on IIs WebServer
  • Citrix Load balancer
  • 2 MSSQL Server 2017 standard (32 GB RAM, 8 Cores, shared SQL)

Note: according to above server specs, do we really need cluster for 200 users ( most likely around 40 concurrent)

Thanks

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mohammad Modallal

Re: Moodle cluster on Windows Server

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
Firstly, I don't know *anything* about Windows. However, the principals are exactly the same.

However, I'm going to start with asking why do you believe you need the additional complexity of a cluster - especially as you are struggling with how to do it?

Oh... and moving to Hardware and Performance forum...

by Visvanath Ratnaweera -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Translators
Hi Mohammed