Setting up Moodle for development

Setting up Moodle for development

by hajar zankadi -
Number of replies: 15

Hello moodlers 

I hope you are doing well

I have many questions concerning the configuration of moodle environment for development and I would like to know what i am missing ( I am new to moodle development)

1- I installed wampserver 64 and downloaded the moodle package for moodle 3.6.2+

2- I launched the install script from wamp ( I unpacked the package in the www directory of wamp and I configured all the necessary requierements to launch the installation) ---> Success

3- I Installed ECLIPSE PDT ( including the necessary plugins: PHP development tools + PHP development SDK)

4- I configured the debugging: For the web server ( Apache), in Eclipse and in Chrome browser

5- I Installed Egit for Eclipse and I cloned the moodle repository into eclipse

6- when it comes to choose the branch to work with, here I am confused: should I clone the master branch or a stable branch ( I am still not good with Git)

I want to know what I still missing in my configuration, note that my OS is Windows 7 64 bit. is there something else to install/configure.

Thank you for your help

Average of ratings: -
In reply to hajar zankadi

Re: Setting up Moodle for development

by Mark Johnson -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

In general, that set up sounds pretty good for getting started with development. We mainly use PHPStorm instead of Eclipse, as it has better integration with automated testing tools than PDT, and tends to perform better in my experience. However, PHPStorm isn't free.

One other thing you should look at setting up is Selenium for running behat tests.