Help for a poor student

Help for a poor student

by Stephen Catton -
Number of replies: 4

Hello people

I am a student working my placement year at Sparsholt College. I have been part of a team working to get Moodle off the ground and used by the teaching staff. My University uses Learnwise and I have been amazed at how much more communicative and flexible Moodle is (Incidentally I now know that they are dumping Learnwise in favour of Moodle). Because we are a land based college and so a lot of our courses are outside it has been difficult to enthuse our fellow academic colleagues it is use.

I have no experience of teaching and so I would be extremely grateful if anyone here might be able to offer some reasons why Moodle would be a good idea to them to use. Especially if we have any sceptics to user converts here. Perhaps a top 10 reasons.

Thanking you in advance

Stephen

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Stephen Catton

Re: Help for a poor student

by Art Lader -
Hello, Stephen,

I think that everything you need is probably right here:
http://moodle.org/mod/forum/view.php?id=2784

This is also something you might want to look at:
http://docs.moodle.org/en/Case_for_Moodle

Hope that helps. smile

Regards,
Art
In reply to Art Lader

by Stephen Catton -

Hello Art

Thanks a lot for your reply...... I have been trawling through the forums looking for the information but there is so much going on in here that I thought it might be easier just to ask the question.

I am looking for ways to encourage teaching staff to use Moodle and am having a hard time of it. They mostly see Moodle as extra work for them to do rather than a time saver. I am not a teacher and so I need help from teachers who are using it and having some positive experiences.

So far I have looked at Moodle to provide support (although not yet necessarily implemented) for the following:

• Teaching students (locally or remotely).
  • Students (web book marks, student-tutor conversations etc)