Magnitude of time for plugin development

Magnitude of time for plugin development

by Yorick Spenrath -
Number of replies: 5

Hi all,

I am new to moodle, as well as relatively new to php. I am employed for a university where my task is to develop a new type of digital testing. We have concluded that our best option is to write a moodle plugin. I have been diving into the moodle code for a bit the last time.

Today I concluded I really have no clue on what kind of magnitude of time my work will take. The digital testing I need to develop is like a multiple choice question, but with dynamic answers. So say, if a student answers question 1 erroneously, then the values of the multiple choice answers of question 2 should be adapted on this.

For example: in question 1 the student is asked to calculate the position of a point mass. Let's assume the correct answer would be (0,0,z), and the incorrect answer the student picks is (0,0,2z). In question 2 the student is asked to calculate the potential energy of the the same point mass (where there is 0 potential energy on the xy-plane). Based on the correct answer for the first question, this would be m * g * z (where m is the mass, g is the gravitational acceleration). However, since the student picked (0,0,2z) as their answer, the new correct answer would be 2 * m * g * z (and as it is a multiple choice question, there would also be erreonous answers available, also based on the answer given in Q2).

I was wondering if anyone could help me to at least grasp the amount of work I am looking to, or at least a very crude estimation/reasoning. I have no previous experience in moodle, and barely in web development. I have some PHP experience, but I had no trouble learning new programming languages in the past. My main programming experience comes from Java.

Thanks in advance

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Yorick Spenrath

Re: Magnitude of time for plugin development

by Richard Jones -