Generico Dataset Help with MySQL query

Generico Dataset Help with MySQL query

by Ron Griffith -
Number of replies: 3

I am not a developer even though I am a snippet user. and I am getting familar with bootstrap and I have been trying to create 2 separate Generico templates one for each of the following queries that will simply display the result ( a number) of the query. Moodle 3.3.5+ (Build: 20180405)

This query simply counts the number of completed courses.

SELECT

COUNT(*)

FROM mdl_certificate_issues

WHERE userid = CURRENT_USER

This query shows the total number of credits the user has completed. (I use the certificate plugin and rely on the printhours field in mdl_certificate)

SELECT SUM(printhours)

FROM mdl_certificate

INNER JOIN mdl_certificate_issues

ON mdl_certificate.id = mdl_certificate_issues.certificateid

WHERE mdl_certificate_issues.userid = CURRENT_USER

I have tried everything, I am frazzled, I think that there are a couple things missing or formatted wrong? After looking around and lots of trial and error I think that the MySQL SUM function cannot be used here because of the format $DB->get_records_sql call function does not allow it? However, I do see a reference to COUNT here... https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Data_manipulation_API and I'm not sure how to use it.  OR I could be wrong and just be using the wrong syntax in the dataset. I have listed below all the not empty settings in my first template Course Count.

Autofill template with a Preset --custom--

The key that identifies template: coursecount 

Template Name: Course Count

The body of template:

My User ID is @@CERTIFICATE_ISSUES:userid@@ in the mdl_certificates_issues table. 

(I guess this doesn't work because it returns more than one value?)

@@USER:id@@ <-- value here proves generico is working keep looking.

What I would like to see here is...

Total Courses Completed: @@CERTIFICATE_ISSUES:COUNT(*)@@

Dataset: "SELECT COUNT(*) FROM {certificate_issues} WHERE userid = ?;"