Moodle File structure and Zurb Foundation help

Moodle File structure and Zurb Foundation help

by Jack D -
Number of replies: 25

Hi all,

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this, but I have searched the documentation and the forums but couldn't find an answer or didn't make sense. I am using Moodle version 3.3.

Basically I want to create a theme using Zurb Foundation 6 (not boostrap) and was wondering how do I incorporate this into moodle?

I am also abit confused with the file structure of moodle (since I don't know PHP or Sass and haven't found a theme that uses just css) and this is my first time using moodle. 

Which files can I delete from Boost or Academi that leaves me with the bare bones of a moodle site? (And not with code I don't need)

What is Pix_Core and PIX? (from my understanding PIX is where your images go?)

Can I delete the libraries folder?

What does the Renderers folder do?

What does the  layouts folder do?

Which file do I use to edit the HTML (I already know how to override the css as I can create a custom.css file in the style folder but was expecting to see a Index file for the html lol). just a side note is there any code that should I not change/edit?

You see ideally I would like to use a a child theme, but since they all use bootstrap I am guessing I will have to create one from scratch (which I think might be best). If that is the case I am wondering what files/folders do I need to make moodle function properly and register my theme without errors. 

I know I need a config file, a lang file, version file and a pix folder. As well as a css folder for my custom styles.

P.s please forgive my noobiness smile

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jack D

Re: Moodle File structure and Zurb Foundation help

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators