Customising Moodle and importing non-moodle html courses

Customising Moodle and importing non-moodle html courses

by Data Ferret -
Number of replies: 5
Hi All

I am new to Moodle but have spent a few days lurking around the forums and reading the massive amount of information available. From a new user perspective it is quite overwhelming. I have a few questions which may/may not have been answered before so please do not tell me to read the forums or send me on a link hunt to other threads. It would help me the most if you could share your information here in one thread - posting links to other threads only if they are absolutely necessary to make your point. Thanks.

Note:
 I am testing offline on Apache/Windows prioer to putting a site online.

So - the questions:

1) I figured out from reading the forums I can change the layout of Moodle by editing the theme/header.html, theme/footer.html and various css files. What I would like to know is what do I need to do to edit the centre content output? I would like to design a curved box to for the content sections but there is no html page I can edit. Also, which bit controls the positioning of the sideblocks? In other words, how do I have full control over the layout so I can design/use a third party template - e.g. say from TempateMonster? (I read the URI theme tutorials but although they are very good they do not tell me all I need to know)

2) I would like to add things like a search box in the header, a login box etc. I would also like to hide the admin features from public view - so only authorised people can access the admin page by accessing a login form from a url I provide. This form will likely be a html page external to Moodle with the form action communicating directly with the Moodle Admin Login. Can this be done?