Fetching data from an external MySQL server.

Fetching data from an external MySQL server.

by Gustavo Lopes -
Number of replies: 5

Greetings!

I am fairly new to Moodle systems and am developing a system integration plugin for my university. Currently, I am stuck at a certain step, detailed below:

I need to fetch a course information from an external database, not related to Moodle, compare it to user data and then work it into creating new courses and populating them. So far I've created the block plugin and messed around with interface properties. I have searched for a couple days now on how to proceed for my plugin to be able to access and retrieve info from this external source, but all I've been able to find was various methods on allowing external applications to access Moodle via tokens.

Is there a known way that I can access an external database using PHP in the block_myblock.php frankenstein file? Is there any sort of documentation or guide tackling this problem that I could adapt to my own problem?

I'm currently using the latest Moodle distribution available. My final objective is to have a plugin that works for any version higher than 3.1.*

Asking the community is my last resource, as I'm sure that someone else had to deal with this problem at some point. I'm simply not able to find anything about it on Google or forums. Sorry. sad

I really appreciate any help provided.

Sincerely,

Gustavo

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Gustavo Lopes

Re: Fetching data from an external MySQL server.

by Richard Jones -
Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Hi Gustavo

By no means an expert but I would think the external database enrolment should provide some clues (enrol_database plugin).  This plugin accesses a remote database (of almost any type) to get user data from.

Richard

In reply to Richard Jones

by Gustavo Lopes -

Hi Richard,