3.1.2 to 3.1.3 upgrade by cpanel (godaddy)

3.1.2 to 3.1.3 upgrade by cpanel (godaddy)

by Andy Hill -
Number of replies: 65

Hi guys

Firstly excellent work to those that have contributed to this incredible software.

I have an issue upgrading from cpanel within godaddy, this is from 3.1.2 to 3.1.3, i get the following error:-

Please forgive me, i am new to this so dummies guide please.  I have changed my 5.4 php version to 5.6 on my host.  Can anyone explain what has happened here and how to overcome it so i can upgrade?

I understand that manually upgrading is probably an option but my knowledge wouldn't let me get that far i dont think.

Any help would be much appreciated

Thanks guys

Andy

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Andy Hill

Re: 3.1.2 to 3.1.3 upgrade by cpanel (godaddy)

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers

Andy, first, is your moodle working?

Second, yes, what you are seeing is the results of using a third-party upgrade product.  What this means is "who knows what it did?" Godaddy won't help you (it's not their upgrader product) and the third-party upgrader company won't help you (you figure it out!)

Many years ago I was in your same situation.  The very short answer is to take time to learn how to upgrade manually.  It really isn't that hard.  But yes, it takes some time and learning.  You will benefit by learning about about FTP and SSH.  How many plugins have you added to your moodle, if any?

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Rick Jerz

by Andy Hill -

Hi Rick

Many thanks for your response, i suppose the only thing i was worried about is that i have abit of customisation within the site.  Question if you dont mind, if i ftp the latest moodle files will this overwrite my custom changes? or do i only upload certain files? Of course i will read up on how to do this and see how it goes.

I think the best thing is to do is clone the site under a sub domain then play with it.

Thanks again

Andy