How to run and modify moodle code.

How to run and modify moodle code.

by ajit singh -
Number of replies: 8

Hi,

I am new to Moodle and need to use moodle code to run from local machine.

Also need to make customization in site by modifying codet. But do not find some appropriate help and video for the same.

Going though YouTube video "Moodle Programming: Part 2 - Create NetBeans project and modify apache config"

But in this they are using some Putty.exe, but how to login to Putty user and password?

Why we use Putty.exe? Is any other alternative of Putty.exe. or it is mandatory to use it for coding  in Moodle.

Please help how to build code on IDE.

Thanks

Ajit

Average of ratings: -
In reply to ajit singh

Re: How to run and modify moodle code.

by Marcus Green -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
I advise you to focus on getting Moodle to run on your local machine before worrying about the IDE.

Many people use Linux, but I use a Windows machine with a package called WAMP. The W means windows and the other letters are Apache (the web server), Mysql (the database) and the P is for PHP. I used to use a very similar package called XAMPP, both do the same job. Get one of those installed, then download the Moodle source, run the install (which creates a configuration file called config.php and installs the tables). Once you have it running then you can concern yourself with development. I use and reccomend Netbeans.

Putty is a tool for accessing the command line on a remote machine, typically this is what you use when access a Linux machine. You probably don't need to worry about that.

In reply to Marcus Green

by ajit singh -

Hi Marcus,

Thanks for reply, yes I need to get Moodle to run on local machine and want to run same of Netbeans. I do not know what steps to fellow, It will be helpful, how to get Moodle code and run on Netbeans on my window 8 machine.

So please provide.