Create calendar events when a custom plugin triggers an event

Create calendar events when a custom plugin triggers an event

by Mahtab Hussain -
Number of replies: 4
May you all live in peace!

I am a Moodle developer. I have developed a local plugin. The plugin allows managing webinars related information. It works fine. Now,I am looking for a way to create calendar events for every webinar entry so that site visitors can view Webinars information in Calendar block. Further, if the plugin modifies any webinar entry, the relevant calendar event may also modify accordingly.

I have already created events in my plugin which fire when an entry is created, updated, and deleted. These events do not actually create calendar events.

I know that when we create a course assignment with a due date, relevant calendar event gets created automatically. So, I was wondering how we manage calendar entries from within a plugin.

I have tried to go through Events 2 API and have learned that /db/events.php file in a plugin can be used to define callback functions relevant to different events. I am wondering if I need to define these callback functions and then within observers.php, I need to write code to create calendar events?
OR
Is there a different way to accomplish the same.

Thanks for your time to read my question. Looking to hear from Moodle gurus.

Warm regards,
Mahtab Hussain

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mahtab Hussain

Re: Create calendar events when a custom plugin triggers an event

by Mahtab Hussain -

Anyone who may have a hint?????

by Olumuyiwa Taiwo -
Picture of Plugin developers

need to define these callback functions and then within observers.php, I need to write code to create calendar events

Yes, that's how you wold do it.

In reply to Olumuyiwa Taiwo

by Mahtab Hussain -

May you live in peace !