Partitioning scheme for Ubuntu Server

Partitioning scheme for Ubuntu Server

by Ryan B -
Number of replies: 8
Hi all,

I'm migrating our moodle server to a large 2TB hdd and was curious about partitioning it differently. Basically, I have students upload many files - everything from Office (.docx, .pptx) to even audio (.mp3) and video files (.mp4, usually). As such, I want to make sure that the partition where these files are stored has the largest space so I don't run out.

However, even after googling, I'm not sure which partition it is. I'm a self-taught/googling Ubuntu server user, so I know I need the /, /home, /boot directories. How would I go about partitioning this hdd to allow the most space for student file uploads?

Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ryan B

Re: Partitioning scheme for Ubuntu Server

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

I've read this a few times and I'm really struggling to understand your question. 

If it's a single disk the Ubuntu install will, by default, create a single big partition (well, it may create a swap partition but don't worry about that). To be honest, on a single physical disk I would just go with that. Put your 'moodledata' directory anywhere you like - I usually create a directory '/var/moodledata' but that's nothing to do with partitioning. 

I think, maybe, you might be confusing partitions with directories in some way but I'm not sure. 

It would be possible to create, say, a separate (roughly) 1.5TB for your data and the rest for everything else. Where it lives is called a 'mount point' and is completely arbitrary (you could specify '/data' for example) but (on a single) disk I just wouldn't bother.

In reply to Ryan B

by Visvanath Ratnaweera -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Translators
Hi

You said: