Behat init.php gives error dbconnectionfailed

Behat init.php gives error dbconnectionfailed

by Joshua Todd Cowper -
Number of replies: 2
Bildo de Core developers Bildo de Testers

Hi there,

I'm not experienced with Behat but am trying to follow the Quick start instructions in the Acceptance testing article in the dev docs as best I can.

I first tried to run through these steps using AMPPS on my Mac but ran into the dbconnectionfailed error I'll describe in a moment, so to exclude anything related to my confuguration, I opened up a VM running a fresh install of OS X 10.9.4 and did the following:

1. Installed Firefox
  2. Installed JDK 8u82
  3. Installed Moodle4Mac 3.0.3
  4. Launched MAMP and logged into Moodle to confirm the installation was working
  5. Followed the Quick start instructions from dev docs
    1. Opened a CLI
    2. cd /Applications/MAMP/htdocs/moodle30
    3. Added these lines to config.php:
      $CFG->behat_prefix = 'b_';
      $CFG->behat_dataroot = '/Applications/MAMP/data/behat30';
      $CFG->behat_wwwroot = 'http://127.0.0.1:8888/moodle30'; // must be different from wwwroot
    4. Skipped step 4 as it seemed appropriate according to danpoltawski's simplified instructions
    5. php admin/tool/behat/cli/init.php
      This went through the process of installing everything, an OS X update prompt came up to install command line tools which I accepted
      Then, I get the same dbconnectionfailed error I received in my earlier testing. I ran the init.php command again and this is the full output including the error:
Joshuas-MacBook-Pro:moodle30 jtc$ php admin/tool/behat/cli/init.php
You are already using composer version 1.0.3 (stable channel).
Loading composer repositories with package information
Installing dependencies (including require-dev) from lock file
Nothing to install or update
Generating autoload files
Default exception handler: <p>Error: Database connection failed</p>