Convert a Moodle plugin from Moodle 2 to Moodle 3

Convert a Moodle plugin from Moodle 2 to Moodle 3

by Olivier Lafleur -
Number of replies: 7

Hi, 

I just installed a Moodle 3 instance. On that instance, I would want to use the Moodle OU wiki (https://github.com/moodleou/moodle-mod_ouwiki).

However, for the moment, this plugin is only available for Moodle 2.

As a developer, I would like to explore the idea of converting this plugin to Moodle 3.

Is there any reference that I could look that guide a developer in converting a plugin from Moodle 2 to Moodle 3?
If not, what should I look for that would be incompatible between the two versions?

Thanks a lot!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Olivier Lafleur

Re: Convert a Moodle plugin from Moodle 2 to Moodle 3

by Richard Oelmann -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Well, there is a stable branch for 2.9 and there are commits to the github repository since that, so you may find it already works fine on 3.0

I don't think there are any major api changes that would cause a total breakdown, so you would probably find only a few relatively minor tweaks needed (if any). The jump from Moodle2.9->Moodle3.0 was just another step change, rather than the huge shift when it jumped from 1.9->2

Probably worth trying the OU_wiki and testing it - and if you do find bugs in it on Mdl3 then don't forget to report them (and if you can provide fixes too, even better smile )

by Davo Smith -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

There shouldn't be anything (much) to change in the plugin. If it works with Moodle 2.7, 2.8 and 2.9, then there is no real reason at all why it would suddenly stop working just because the next version of Moodle has come out (after all, Moodle 2.9 => Moodle 3.0 is no different to Moodle 2.8 => Moodle 2.9).

In reply to Davo Smith

by Olivier Lafleur -