A Proposal to Speed Up Moodle Sites Greatly

A Proposal to Speed Up Moodle Sites Greatly

by N Hansen -
Number of replies: 11
I've been doing some experiments that have the potential to speed up the delivery of Moodle sites over the Web and reduce bandwidth usage by compressing the js and css files of Moodle, which account for the greatest percentage of file transfer in any Moodle site. If I can get it working properly completely, it has the potential to reduce the size of Moodle files being transmitted over the Web by 2/3. I'm no programmer though and I achieved what I did simply by following instructions, and I've run into a seemingly very minor snag with the css files which I have found a not ideal workaround for and a bigger problem with the js files. If anyone can find a solution for these problems and knows a way to work these hacks into Moodle correctly, I think this has potential to be a very helpful contribution to Moodle, especially for those who have users on dialup and who want to limit their bandwidth usage. I've submitted it as bug 4165 and you can read about it and follow up there.
Average of ratings: -
In reply to N Hansen

Re: A Proposal to Speed Up Moodle Sites Greatly

by Martin Dougiamas -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers
I've looked into this in the past.

Firstly, the stylesheets and Javascripts have purposely been designed to cache nicely, so you only need to load them once anyway. Compressing them only helps on the first page load.

Secondly, there are modules for Apache like mod_gzip that will compress all pages on the server before sending - it adds a small overhead to the server but I think it's worth it. In fact I have been running it for some years on this very server. However, most people recommend specifically excluding css and js files from compression because older browsers have trouble with them.