Reuse courses

Reuse courses

by Luís Rocha Graça -
Number of replies: 7

Hi there,

I have a question regarding the best practice on reusing a course.

I've been working with Moodle for almost five years and every time I would need to start a new course I would backup the original course and restore it to a new course. I understand that there may be other alternatives. What are they, and I would like to know, in your opinion, what were the best practices regarding the reuse of a new course.

Many thanks

Luís

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Luís Rocha Graça

Re: Reuse courses

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

We now have the upload course option which allows you to reference an existing course as a template.  That is definitely the easiest way to duplicate courses.

Average of ratings: Useful (2)
In reply to Emma Richardson

by Luís Rocha Graça -

Thank you so much for your reply  Emma. Do you know any kind of best practices or checklist regarding reusing a course?

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

Not really.  I expect my teachers to go through their course at the beginning of the semester and adjust as necessary.  I work on the admin side and just provide them with the tools...

In reply to Emma Richardson

by Pat McClanahan -

Hello Emma....I am pretty much a novice at this Moodle thing. You mentioned using the "upload" option to use and existing course as a template. What exactly do I upload? Do I need to do a backup of a course first, then simply upload the backup?

I have a course I would love to reuse...and this sounds like exactly what I need.

Thanks so much

Pat McClanahan

by Riady Santoso -
Hi Luis,