I'm new to the Book module, need some advice.

I'm new to the Book module, need some advice.

by Marcus 7241 -
Number of replies: 2

I've recently uploaded some content from a Word doc into Moodle in a Book format/layout. The content is quite long and at present a user will have to scroll all the way down the page to read one chapter. How should I break up the content so users can avoid the "scroll of death" I know you can have sub-chapters but if you have lots of content how do you create a number of pages tied to one chapter of content?

I've attached an image of the content and as you can see I've had to scroll to the bottom on the page which isn't good design. 

Attachment Screenshot_1.png
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Marcus 7241

Re: I'm new to the Book module, need some advice.

by Derek Chirnside -

This is just a really quick note Marcus, only asking about one thing.

Who says all scrolling is bad?  If you are reading, then is it a problem to scroll down?

The Scroll of Death typically in Moodle is scrolling to find what you want, constantly, often because the position of the navigation and it's structure is not optimal, or the functionality is not being used (like single section layouts) etc.

For example, in this page,  we have nice Menus at the top, but generally, to get to ANY admin function, we need to scroll.  Unless you click to close other menus, in which case you then loose that navigation they provide.  This is the scroll of death.  Scroll is OK in other respects

Here is a comment from the wonderful people at 'Adapt':

Innovations in design

Adapt isn't just a fresh take on an e-learning framework, it also offers an innovative approach to design and course navigation and incorporates, what we think, are several exciting developments:

• Components instead of templates - pages are constructed by combining a wide range of interactive components in any number and mix required.