Newbie: Tex display glitchy

Newbie: Tex display glitchy

by lucia liljegren -
Number of replies: 5

Hi,

I'm new to moodle. I installed 2.5 at Dreamhost and I'm trying to insert equations. Some equations render fine,others that should display fine break.  I activated debugging (my site/moodle/filter/tex/texdebug.php#help ) , but I don't understand the messages.   The debug message sent me here so I hope you can help.

In case it helps clarify my issue, below in blue is example of what I mean by not rendering:

Shows tex equations showing errors.

Here's the error message which tells me to come here!

Error message displayed.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to lucia liljegren

Re: Newbie: Tex display glitchy

by Colin Fraser -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Testers

I assume that you have turned on the TeX Filter? That is usually the main issue, it is not set on by default. If MathJax is available in v2.5, and I am not sure that it is, then you may have to ask your host to install it, if you cannot access code yourself. Otherwise, go to the Plugins > Filters > Manage Filters. If MathJax is not switched on, then turn it on. Then go to Settings page - make sure all the URLs and configurations are correct, then save the page, if you need to. 

Also, if the TeX filter is on, then you may want to turn it off, they do not always play nicely together when both are being used.  It may still use the fallback, mimetex, if needed, but they won't interfere with each other, as I am given to understand. 

Someone else may be able to provide a more detailed explanation, but if you do these things and it still does not work, then let us know and further assistance should be forthcoming.  

In reply to Colin Fraser

by lucia liljegren -

Thanks!

Yes. Tex is on. I found that selection in the administration section.  That's why some equations were rendering. The problem was other (identically formatted) equations where not rendering. It was very mysterious.