New Module - Certification

New Module - Certification

by Ralph Blakeslee -
Number of replies: 16

I am looking for some help in developing a new module, which I have tentatively called Certification.  The purpose of this module is to provide the participant/student with a printable certification when the course has been completed.  The module would be applicable to either the Weekly Format, or Topic Format type of course. 

I am just starting to learn PHP, so I guess I am looking for someone to act as my "mentor" who can point me in the right direction and give me a lift when I am stuck.  Certainly if anyone elese would like to work on this project I would be glad to help organize it.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ralph Blakeslee

Re: New Module - Certification

by Marilyn Fleming -

What kind of mentoring do you have in mind?

I, too, am working on a certification-related project. I'm new to Moodle, but have a bit of PHP experience and a lot of programming experience in several other languages. My heavy experience is desktop and Windows, but I've also done both Perl and PHP on a couple of virtual servers.

I was thinking about just writing an external program to run directly against the Moodle db, pull a list of student, course, and grade, and export it to a file. Then import the file into a central certification db on another computer.

Are you looking for a fancy printed Certificate, or just bland text stuff?

In reply to Marilyn Fleming

by Jenny Watt -

I found a site that offers a free PHP PDF creator:

http://www.fpdf.org/

and played around with it and created a PDF certificate. I am hoping to get it integrated with Moodle. I was thinking of making it a module so that after the class was completed it would check the student grade and then generate a certificate they could download.

Keep me posted on your project!

Jenny

In reply to Jenny Watt

by Patrik Nilsson -

Might be tricky to integrate because of the licens..