Bootstrap Themes

Bootstrap Themes

by John Banner -
Number of replies: 14

Looking at Moodle going forward I see that the most themes are now bootstrap based and the others have been basically removed from core in 2.7

Can Moodle HQ look into adding into the custom settings for the bootstrap themes to easily resize the columns?

Right now, almost all the themes that are based on bootstrap have REALLY wide columns, like almost 25-30% of the screen/page is dedicated to a column. The headings and activity names are also really huge but I have managed to add in the custom css of the theme to change those. If we use 3 columns in a course, which most are, then the course content, the main content, only gets 40% of the screen. The column widths are using up valuable course space. Our teachers like blocks so moving to 2 column only is not an option.

I am not a theme designer so I do not even know where to begin to fix this for us, currently using non bootstrap theme in Moodle 2.4 since upgrading would mean the eventual adaptation of a bootstrap theme.

So how can one easily, without allot of LESS or knowledge change these column widths in the custom CSS setting for the theme?

Thanks,

John

Average of ratings: -
In reply to John Banner

Re: Bootstrap Themes

by Gareth J Barnard -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

Hi John,

Moodle 2.5, 2.6 and 2.7 core bootstrap is version 2.3.2 which implements a grid system.  This is based on classes with percentages defined for different screen sizes in order to implement responsiveness.  You can find details of the system here: http://getbootstrap.com/2.3.2/scaffolding.html.