Newbie questions: Does updating question bank update quizzes?

Newbie questions: Does updating question bank update quizzes?

by Gerald Grow -
Number of replies: 10

Using Moodle 2.4.4+ here. I have had extensive experience with Moodle 1.9 using Hot Potatoes and Quizport, and I am trying to convert to Moodle 2+ and quiz.

(1) I'm trying to learn how to update my Quiz questions. If I update the question bank, does that automatically update the questions that are embedded in quizzes?

If not, how do I find the questions that need updating, when they might be repeated among a number of different quizzes?

Using Hot Potatoes and Moodle 1.9, I could see the files containing the questions. Not so on Moodle 2+ and Quiz?

I have a large course with a large question bank (2,000 + items), so keeping it up to date is important.

Thanks for any help. And BTW, I spent a half hour looking everywhere I could think of before asking the help of the forum. It's a dumb question, I know.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Gerald Grow

Re: Newbie questions: Does updating question bank update quizzes?

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Questions really live in the question bank. When you add a question to the quiz, you are just making a link from the quiz to the question in the question bank.

So, you can add one question to many quizzes, and then if you edit it, it will change in all quizzes.

I am not surprised you could not find an answer to your question by googling. For this sort of question, it is often easier to experiment in Moodle, to see what happens. It is useful to have a test course where you can do that, and it does not matter if you mess things up.

Average of ratings: Useful (3)
In reply to Tim Hunt

by Mary Cooch -