sql query group by name and average

sql query group by name and average

by Mike Glazebrook -
Number of replies: 16

I am new to sql and am having a hard time figuring out what to query in order to get a google pie chart functioning correctly.

SELECT `rank`, `firstname`, `email`,`username`
FROM `mdl_user`, `mdl_questionnaire_response_rank`
WHERE 1
GROUP BY `email`

That is how I am running the query right now. I have attached a screen shot of how it displays right now.

It is exactly how I want it other than when I grouped it by `email` it forced all the ranks to be the same number.

I want to group it the way that it is but then show the AVG rank per user in the users section of the pie chart.

so Alex may have a 45% section of chart while Mike may have 75%.

If I get that much I will be happy but I will also eventually want to make the chart so that only the user will be able to see their average slice of the pie chart to an average of everyone else. 

If you know how to call the current user only to show and then average of everyone else that would be awesome.

Let me know if you need any more info.

Thanks in advance!

Attachment Screen Shot 2013-07-03 at 12.29.42 PM.png
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mike Glazebrook

Re: sql query group by name and average

by Darko Miletić -

Your query is not correct.

In reply to Darko Miletić

by Darko Miletić -

This would be the correct base query

SELECT res.id, res.rank, u.firstname, u.email, u.username
FROM
mdl_questionnaire_response_rank res,
mdl_questionnaire_response rp,
mdl_questionnaire_attempts att,
mdl_user u
WHERE
res.response_id = rp.id
and
att.rid = rp.id
and
att.userid = u.id

Average of ratings: Useful (1)

by Mike Glazebrook -

You know I replied to your post asking how to get all the users and it turned out that I had already had them. Not sure what I was thinking. This is exactly what I needed.

Thanks a ton!

by Mike Glazebrook -