How to structure topics within topics?

How to structure topics within topics?

by Night Owl -
Number of replies: 7

Okay, I'm new to Moodle...I'm the developer for my school. I am trying to convert a bunch of courses from another LMS into our Moodle account. I have courses with categories (topics), and then within each of those categories, there are several subcategories that should really be topics of their own.  What is the best way to structure these in Moodle...there doesn't seem to be a way to create a "hierarchy" of topics.  

For example, in an English course, the 4 main categories are "Grammar", "Literature", "Composition", and "Reading".  Within Composition, there is "Speech", "Creative Writing", "Research Papers", "Essays", and "Responses".  Each of those subtopics has many assignments. If I make the 4 topics, for each of the topics, the page just goes on and on, with much indenting and it's very hard to tell where the subtopics are. If I make each subtopic and "topic", there is no structure to the course menu, and you cannot tell where the main topics start and end.

So, I'd like my Moodle menu to look like this:

English

> Composition

>>Speech

>>Creative Writing

>>Research Papers

>>Essays

>>Responses

>Grammar

>>topic1

>>topic2

>>topic3

>LIterature

..and so on. Is there a way to do this without making each subcategory a topic in Moodle?  Or, is there a way to "indent" topics?

Thanks so much for any help!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Night Owl

Re: How to structure topics within topics?

by Nigel Irwin -

One way would be to use topics for your main categories and then for each subcategory use a label and then indent the contents under each label so would be:

Topic 1 Composition

Speech (label)

Resources for speech

Creative Writing (label)

etc etc.

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Night Owl

by Derek Chirnside -