View Files in a Google Docs Viewer

View Files in a Google Docs Viewer

by Allan Watson -
Number of replies: 5

I'm new to moodle, and developing a mobile front end which is widely compatible with devices. What I want to achieve is a way for smart phones and tablets to view different file formats on their devices in a standard way.

Google docs viewer does a great job of converting file urls and displaying them in a viewer in your browser.

https://docs.google.com/viewer

I'm trying to find a way of altering the download link for files that appear in course resources. So instead of the url being a download link, the link gets forwaded to another page which can display the content.

I've never built a moodle plugin before, and I'm trying to stay clear of modifying any moodle core files by using javascript to manipulate the DOM.

I've been exploring the renders and lib files of the moodle/course folder, to no avail. The /course/resources.php file has given me some sort of indication about how files are presented, but not really a lot of use.

Wonder if anyone could give me some advice or direction to go with this idea. Would it be easier to try and manipulate core files or build some sort of plugin?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Allan Watson

Re: View Files in a Google Docs Viewer

by Kris Stokking -

You may want to have a look at Google's usage policies before you embark down this road.  We are also interested in inline file display, but decided not to pursue Google Docs Viewer because the data is made public, there is no way to secure it, and it is cached on the Google servers based on the URL.  If your resources are freely available, then GDocs Viewer would be a good option for you.  If you need to be concerned about file access, I would not recommend it.  

In reply to Kris Stokking

by Allan Watson -

Kirs thanks for your reply. Security isn't a major issue in my project, it's for academic purposes.