Can someone help with File API please?

Can someone help with File API please?

by Pete Smith -
Number of replies: 12

I'm doing a small hack to the certificates module so that users can upload their own image files for background, watermarks etc. I've got that bit working OK, but now I want to use the file API to retrieve the stored file when the pdf document is created. I'm very new to Moodle and I can't quite see the correct way to call up the image - and even if it works in this context, how will I get it to work in the context for the person whose certificate it is?

Any insights would be appreciated. Thanks.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Pete Smith

Re: Can someone help with File API please?

by Pete Smith -

Right. The form element 'filemanager' just stores the file in the database as 991861473 which is its itemid. Clearly it has some way of picking this file back out by using a combination of itemid and context. I want to bypass the context part and pull the file simply by using the itemid from the mdl_certificate table.

I'm trying (as an experiment - hardcoded):

$fs = get_file_storage();
  $fileid = 991861473;
  $file = $fs->get_file_by_id($fileid);

$pathname = "$CFG->dirroot/mod/certificate/pix/borders/temp";
  $tempfile = $file->copy_content_to($pathname);

But clearly, get_file_by_id() is the wrong function as it uses id, not itemid.

In reply to Pete Smith

by Davo Smith -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Take a look here at how to set up a filemanager element then store the files back into a location of your choice once the form has been submitted:

http://docs.moodle.org/dev/Using_the_File_API_in_Moodle_forms#filemanager

Once you have saved the files from the filemanager into your desired location, you can then access them via:

$context = context_module::instance($cmid);
$component = 'mod_certificate';